Open letter to the Maryland State Board of Education.

msde_store_frontMay 12, 2016

Maryland State Department of Education
200 W Baltimore St #1
Baltimore, MD 21201

Dear Dr. Jack R. Smith:

I am writing because the actions of BOE of PGCPS violations of Administrative Procedure 4200 for an employee member electing to use the appeals process, has become extremely frustrating for me. My life has been significantly impacted from middle class to poverty because of their refusal to follow policy and procedures.

On July 20, 2015, I received a letter from Margaret Utuk, Supervisor, case management of PGCPS requesting that I address my employment status. I responded to her letter on July 25, 2015. Prince George’s County Public Schools denied receiving my reply although my letter was certified returned receipt. I have documentation supporting this. Following this, I received another letter from Angela Joyner, ELRO of PGCPS dated July 29, 2015 requesting clarification of the status of my employment. I responded to her letter with a date of August 7, 2015 which BOE of PGCPS denied receiving. Later a due process conference was scheduled on August 25, 2015 with Angela Joyner, ELRO of PGCPS, Susan Lesser PGCEA representative and I.

I received a letter dated October 28, 2015 terminating my employment with BOE of PGCPS for grounds of misconduct in office and willful neglect of duty. I have not been on the payroll or in a school since January 2013. I appealed this decision within the time frame allowed which was ten days. The exact wording of AP. 4200 states, “In the event a request for a hearing is timely made and received by Board, the procedure for conducting a hearing, unless otherwise determined by the Board is as follows.” This statement appears to give the BOE infinite amount time and jurisdiction. Do you think five years is long enough? After several emails from me to the BOE chairman Segun Eubanks, a hearing officer was assigned on November 19, 2015.

According to the administrative procedure 4200 a hearing was to be scheduled sixty days from the identification of the hearing officer Linda Earle-Hill. My hearing was scheduled four months later on March 15, 2016. The hearing lasted six hours. Obtaining the transcript of the hearing from Bradford Associates was a nightmare. It took almost two months. We requested the transcript on March 24, 2016 and received it on May 11, 2016. Although Lolita Morris, stenographer (Bradford Associates) stated in the hearing it would take seven to ten days.

If you see the attached email dated today, from Linda Earle-Hill, Hearing officer, she states, “I may have to travel sometime in June which may delay my findings by a few weeks.”

You are probably wondering why I should get involved in a personal personnel issue. Well the answer is simple, if it is happening to me then it will happen to someone else or has happened to someone else and slow justice is no justice. See the attached letter dated February 7, 2011 from Elizabeth Kameen, Principal Counsel Assistant Attorney General for Maryland State Department of Education. According to this letter I have been in litigation with BOE of PGCPS for five years which has caused an undue hardship for me financially. This all started when I filed a sexual harassment charge on October 18, 2010 with PGCPS and with Equal Employment Opportunity Commission in January 2011. If you do not believe me just Google my name Desiree V. Mayes and you will see I was terminated on January 17, 2013 and plethora of other information. I keep asking myself why I didn’t I have a due process hearing in 2011, 2012, 2013, or 2014 not until 2015 this does not make sense to me. This is not justice but a cover up. Instead of policy and procedures being followed, I have received delay, delay and more delays which amount to harassment. With respect to employment policies, is it too much to ask for equal treatment with personnel practices? I am on the verge of losing me my home and everything I have worked hard to become educated so that I could take care of my family.

In closing, I expected that PGCPS would recognize the meaningful value and importance of full discussion in resolving discrimination complaints and preserving good relations. I also understand that from time to time there may be misunderstandings and questions concerning rules, policies, and personnel issues. But clearly this is not the issue, the issue is policy and procedures are being ignored. PGCPS policies give employees a way to have complaints addressed rapidly, fairly, and without fear of reprisal but not in my case. I am so tired of mental and emotional pain that I have had to endure for the last five and half years. My contact information is under separate cover. If you need additional information feel free to contact me. Would you considering helping me shed some light on this appeal process without any further delays so that I could resolve my issues with PGCPS and not become homeless?

Respectfully submitted,
Desiree V. Mayes

Cc: Larry Hogan, Maryland Governor
David A. Branch, Attorney
Roland Martin, TVOne
Loretta Lynch, US Attorney General
Bob Ross, NAACP President

Desiree V. Mayes
5202 Call Pl SE
Washington, DC 20019
202.581.9512
Gmayes915@verizon.net

pgcps_logoimage

***

One response »

  1. Ms. Mays,

    When we read your letter, we too can personally attest to this intentional practice by the BOE in collaboration with our Unions to drag out the appeal process in hopes of bankrupting the Complainant. We would like to meet with you to share some of the specific actions we have taken as well as, the details of our cases. If you think joining forces with us would be in your best interest and to assist others who may have lost everything as a result of filing a complaint, refusal to violate the rights of students to a Free and Public Education, we welcome you to join our fight for justice.

    Like

Leave a Reply

