The Ongoing Struggle of Teacher Retention

slideshow2

Standing in front of my eighth-grade class, my heart palpitated to near-panic-attack speed as I watched second hand of the clock. Please bellring early, I prayed. It was my second day of teaching, and some of my middle-school male students were putting me to the test.

In a span of three minutes, the group in room 204 had morphed from contained to out of control. Two boys were shooting dice in the back of the room, and as I instructed them to put their crumpled dollar bills away, several others took off their shoes and began tossing them around like footballs. Before I could react, one boy broke into my supply closet. He snatched handfuls of No. 2 pencils and highlighters and sprinted out of the room, slamming the door behind him.

This was 2004. I was 22 years old and had been placed as a beginning teacher in one of Kentucky’s most troubled, underperforming, and dysfunctional middle schools. I had no prior teaching experience, nor had I studied education as an undergraduate. I’d only begun my alternative certification work at the University of Louisville a few months prior, having been recruited by Teach Kentucky. I’d enter the classroom only having completed two graduate courses—I was expected to learn on the fly. I wasn’t ready for the stress, the culture shock, or the pressure to increase student reading scores.

I resigned from the position before Christmas. I hadn’t even gotten my certification.

The district in which that middle school is located, Louisville’s Jefferson County Public Schools, is one of the nation’s largest, serving over 100,000 students in roughly 150 schools. Eighteen of them are labeled “priority schools,” meaning they demonstrate exceptionally low student achievement. Unsurprisingly, most of these campuses serve student populations with at least three-fourths of kids on free or reduced-priced meal plans, an indicator of poverty.

>>> Read more 

fig-3

us-rev***

One response »

  1. Sounds a lot like my first year of teaching. Many tears were shared but my colleagues supported me. Besides, one of my interview questions was, “Will you stay the entire year”?I should have known is was going to be rough. At any rate, I have believed for sometime that teachers in high poverty schools will need no less than a combination of the following three critical components 1.) Substantially higher pay (combats the day to day frustration), 2.) Effective Collaborative planning & Professional Development (builds a supportive community) 3.) 20-year retirement (motivates teachers to stay for the long haul). Of course this “package” would come with major dollar signs. The 2 billion noted in this article would help. Sadly I don’t think most politicians are willing to allocate those kinds of resources to these failing schools. Let’s face it… these are not the families paying high property taxes, voting and lobbying their representatives. Other than an altruistic calling, what would move politicians to serve “the least of these” with nothing in return?

    Like

Leave a Reply

